Spa Night!

Let me tell you how I know Celeste’s boyfriend is a keeper. The young man showed up to their date with a spa kit for Celeste and I to share. What?!? I love him already. He must know that the way to a woman’s heart is beauty products. Anywayyy, his gift inspired me to enjoy a spa night!

1378175_754208421270674_2016162737_n

Spa Night Supplies!

The Spa Kit

$T2eC16Z,!)4FI,Jr-Y0)BSbDo5qEtg~~60_57

$(KGrHqR,!qgFJeCE4f9mBSbDo9N5TQ~~60_57

The Revlon Spa MoistureStay Complete Spa Care Set contains a mani/pedi system and a facial sauna. The manicure/pedicure set includes a nail dryer, cuticle stick, and nail styler. The nail styler is hand held, battery operated, and comes with four changeable heads to shape, style, and buff nails. The second part of the Spa Care Set is a facial sauna, which is definitely my new favorite thing. I remember my mom having one similar to this in the 90’s, but I’d never used one myself. What I’ve learned: facial saunas are complexion refining wonders, delivering steam that opens pores, cleanses and hydrates skin. Also, as the steam opens the pores, it makes the skin more receptive to products applied after the facial, like a mask or moisturizer. The products used after a facial, therefore, are more effective.

Using the Set

1012290_754207951270721_1996503638_n 1897726_754207831270733_408239849_n 1920163_754207924604057_1340168404_n

I kicked off the spa-night celebration with my nails! After removing my polish, I rubbed my cuticles and nails down with Earth Therapeutics Cracked Heel Repair Stick. I know, I know. It’s meant for feet. But with skin-loving ingredients like coconut oil, shea butter, beeswax, and tea tree oil, this multi-tasker is great for any skin that needs a little extra moisture. After letting that magic work a few minutes, I began filing my nails with the shaping disc of the nail styler. After changing the styler head to the polishing disc, I buffed my nails to a mirror shine. Next I pushed back my cuticles with the included cuticle stick and clipped them. I am now looking at 10 very neatly groomed fingernails, and I’m not mad about it.

1981748_754207997937383_443037860_n

After finishing my nails I moved on to the facial sauna, which I approached with some trepidation. (Before I used the steamer, my fiance warned me against putting my face in it because it would melt my face off. I am happy to report he was wrong.)  Like I said before, it is my new favorite thing! Besides being incredibly relaxing, the steam left my skin feeling very soft and hydrated. I followed up the 20 minute steam with Freeman’s Feeling Beautiful Avocado and Oatmeal Facial Clay Mask  to further cleanse my pores. (From what I understand, spa nights have to include face masks and those weird things you stick between your toes when your toenail polish is drying.) I finished up by slathering on Korres Pomegranate Balancing Cream-Gel Moisturizer, Korres Evening Primrose Eye Cream (now discontinued), and some ultra-luxurious AmorePacific Moisture Bound Vitalizing Mask. My face smells really good right now.

My Evaluation

I am not sure if I will be using the nail set again. While effective, the styling tool was low powered and slow. The nail dryer only dries one hand at a time and is also low powered. I could probably be talked in to an electric manicure tool that delivers a little more oomph, like this one  (at least according to customer reviews). Even if the nail portion of the spa kit wasn’t a winner for me, the whole set is redeemed by the glorious facial sauna. I am determined to use this steamer regularly.I believe the Spa Care Set has been discontinued, but it can be purchased on Ebay here for $39.99.

Just so you know, I did all of this while lying in my bed, eating hummus and pita chips, and catching up on Arrested Development Season 4 on Netflix. It was a trying night of work.

What is your spa night routine? Tell us about it in the comments below!

Gracias Amigos!

Caitlin

Leave a Reply

